Advocate of the Year

Ms. Sarah Leverette

Photo by Jeff Amberg, courtesy of the SC Progressive Network.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, we are excited to announce that our 2017 Advocate of the Year reception will take place September 26th, beginning at 5:30PM.

We hope you will make plans to join us as we honor groundbreaking South Carolina attorney, Ms. Sarah Leverette, as the recipient of our 2017 Rev. Sen. Clementa C. Pinckney Award for Justice.

Ms. Leverette has always been at the forefront of equal rights for women in the law and in the community. As one of the first female graduates of the USC School of Law, one of the first female lawyers in South Carolina and the first female faculty member of USC School of Law, the impact of her willingness to defy the expectations of the once closed-door, all-male South Carolina legal community continues to this day in the career of every female attorney in the state.

We hope you will plan to join us for this great opportunity to honor Ms. Leverette for her lifetime of accomplishments and commitment to justice for all.

Past honorees: Ken Suggs (‘06), George Cauthen (’07), I.S. Leevy Johnson (‘08), Vicky Eslinger (‘09), Congressman John Spratt (‘10), Congressman James Clyburn (‘11), US Secretary of Education Richard W. Riley (‘12), Former U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commissioner and SC Secretary of Education Inez Moore Tenenbaum (’13), Terry Richardson (’14), Coach Dawn Staley (’15), Stuart Andrews ('16).

AOY Sponsorship Information

Sponsorship opportunities are available. For more information about sponsorship levels and benefits, please contact Brandon Fountain ( or 803-779-1113 x109).

Give a Sponsorship Online:

Give a Sponsorship by Mail

2017 AOY Host Committee

Stuart Andrews
Keller H. Barron
The Honorable Beth Bernstein
Bill Boyd
Jim Byrum & Liz Crum
Carole Cato
George & Mary Denis Cauthen
Darra Cothran
JoAnne Day
Laura Hart
Herb Hartsook
John & Patricia Kassel
The Honorable Joel Lourie
The Honorable Travis Medlock
Ed Mullins
Catherine Perry
Terry Richardson
Linda Salane
The Honorable Alex Sanders
Tara Shurling
Liz Zeck

2017 AOY Sponsors

John & Patricia Kassel

Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough

Sue Berkowitz & Harry Palmer
Bluestein, Nichols, Thompson & Delgado
McGowan, Hood & Felder
Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein
Linda Salane
Robin & Janie White

1000 Feathers
Stuart & Arlene Andrews
Carole Cato
George & Mary Denis Cauthen
Joye Law Firm
Councilman Jim Manning
Liz Zeck & Mark Berg